Browser Differences

There are serious differences in the way different web browsers are rendering and displaying this blog. I’m on a Mac with a calibrated Apple flat panel Cinema display. I set the blog up using Opera. The header image is a tad saturated, but rich and truer to the way I remember the image appearing in print. Safari, on the other hand, almost makes it look flat by comparison (although truer to the original). While still aesthetically pleasing on its own in Safari, when placed side-by-side, Opera wins hands-down.

And it is with deep regret that I inform you of the passing of a saint, as Camino won’t even display the header. Rather, it jumbles the frames together, with no image anywhere to be seen. That’s even with all of the pop-ups and web ads enabled, so the blockers aren’t responsible for the aberration.

…OK – I just uploaded a “tweaked” version. It now looks fine in Safari, although not quite as saturated, by way of comparison, as it previously did in Opera. However, (and I knew this was going to happen) Opera is now unbearably saturated and contrasty. So, what to do? I think I’ll leave it as is with this “tweaked” version, until I can hear from some Internet Explorer users (hint, hint…).

Amazing as our technology is, nothing is perfect. I know I’m not. So how could I expect a tool to be?

~ by Johnny on September 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
